Open Scholarship Knowledge Base

Discover open scholarship resources created and curated by the community.

Learn About OSKB

Welcome to the Open Scholarship Knowledge Base community!

Discover open scholarship resources created and curated by the community.

What are we doing? And why?

The Problem

  1. It is difficult for people new to open scholarship ideas and practices to find and apply existing materials.

  2. It is difficult for educators to bring open scholarship concepts and exercises into their courses.

  3. The open scholarship landscape changes quickly, so materials can become outdated. 

Our Solution

Our Project Roadmap outlines our approach: Build a knowledge base platform and a community of contributors to organize information on the what, why, and how of open scholarship so it is easy to find and apply. Contributors keep the information up-to-date and curate modules for self-learning or teaching.

Who are we?

We are a community of volunteer advocates working with researchers, educators, and anyone interested in open scholarship to build a knowledge base so that researchers and users can discover and apply open practices.

Spearheaded by volunteers at a research conference, we are a group of diverse individuals aligned by a shared goal to make learning and applying open research practices easier. 

How can I contribute?

The OSKB is being built by and for the community it aims to serve. Researchers, teachers, funders, librarians, and anyone wanting to open scholarship are welcome to edit, curate, and contribute to this community resource.

Best first steps:

  • All OSKB community members must agree to uphold and report all violations to the OSKB Code of Conduct.

  • Join an existing Group:

    • Review their “Good First Task” tasks for something to start with.

    • Introduce yourself and your areas of interest in the Group Discussion board.

  • Join a monthly community call to meet the rest of the community! 

    • Date: First Monday of every month

    • Time:  8:00 am PDT / 11:00 am EDT / 12:00 noon ADT / 4:00 pm BST / 5:00 pm CEST

    • Register for the next meeting to join us!

      *** NOTE *** Community call for September moved to Tuesday, September 8th due to the Labor Day holiday.

 

OSKB Groups

Contributor Guides

Welcome to the Open Scholarship Knowledge Base Contributor Guides!  

Help people quickly and confidently learn and apply open scholarship practices.

Get started the right way by reading our handy OSKB Contributor Guides: