Introduce yourself!

by Aubree Evans 2 years, 11 months ago

This institute is an opportunity to meet teacher education faculty at Minority Serving Institutions around the country. Let's start getting to know each other! Please reply to this post and answer the following:

1. Role & institution
  2. Your module topic
  3. Something that has helped you survive teaching during COVID
  4. [Optional] your email address if you would like to stay in touch after this institute.
Lara Ervin-Kassab 2 years, 11 months ago

Hello All! My name is Lara Ervin-Kassab and I am an assistant professor of teacher education at San Jose State University in California. My guiding question through my educational life is how do we learn with and from one another? My module topic is one of creating a protocol for educators to use when critically reviewing assessments, instructional plans, and/or apps for diversity, equity, and inclusion. This is grounded in Inclusive Pedagogy, but absolutely asks us all to consider intersectionality, technological pedagogical content knowledge, and how we include context (such as families, communities, etc.) into our planning,teaching, assessing, reflecting, and development of practice.  I've been an edtech educator and teacher leader for 20+ years, one of the things that helped me survive during the COVID online experience was creating an online community in which we supported one another at SJSU. I'd love to stay in touch Lara.Kassab@sjsu.edu. 

Aubree Evans 2 years, 11 months ago

Welcome, Lara,

A protocol for critically reviewing assessments, instructional plans, and or apps for DEI sounds VERY useful! I am excited to see your module evolve.

Aubree

Maria Gross 2 years, 11 months ago