OER / OEP Reflection

by Megan Simmons 3 years, 11 months ago

This week we explored what Open Educational Resources and Practices are and how they might benefit our work. Please share a current need / challenge / opportunity you have / are facing and how OER and OEP might help you address that need / challenge / opportunity by replying below.

For example, A current challenge I am facing is transitioning my classroom teaching to a virtual environment. I think OER and OEP might help me address this challenge by giving me access to resources that I can use and connecting me with other teachers that are successfully teaching virtually. It would be helpful to see what others are doing and what is working / not working. 

Kimberly Grotewold 3 years, 11 months ago

As I mentioned in our discussion, I am a librarian at my university and have been involved in facilitating a Library-sponsored OER-incentive initiative at my institution, and there are certainly faculty who have been interested in participating and exploring ways to adopt/adapt/use OER for their courses. A challenge I am facing is that the university administration has remained skeptical of the quality of OER and has not embraced practices that really encourage faculty to move in this direction, even with the current pandemic environment. As someone else mentioned during the meeting, there are not policies in place to recognize OER adoption/creation with regard to tenure and promotion, nor has there been an expression of support in terms of release time or other stipended time that faculty could use to develop OER materials.