SLASL Webinar #1 Pre-work

by Joanna Schimizzi 7 years, 2 months ago

Hello -- We are excited to support you as your team begins working in the template. Prior to getting started, please do 2 small tasks:

1) Watch this 10 minute video on how standards are used in the template.

https://www.oercommons.org/authoring/19968-slasl-webinar-1-self-paced-video/view

2) Please reply below with one specific part of the template that you'd like to discuss as a cohort. 

Jessica Payeur 7 years, 2 months ago

I was pretty happy when watching the video to find that deconstructing the standards and writing TSWBAT.  This was very similar work that have done for the last few years, when I was a 7th grade science teacher.  We wrote "I can" statements and posted them in the classroom, and this way it was posted for the students and anyone else that walked into the class.  

One specific part I want to talk about as a cohort is the "essential question" .  I think it is important to have that question in place to begin working...

I am wondering why the prior knowledge and learning outcomes are listed after the summative assessment in the template...written like that it makes me think that some might be teaching to a test...

Karen Desjadon 7 years, 2 months ago

The video and template really do a great job breaking down the task at hand.  In the webinar there was a discussion about deconstructing, or unpacking, the standards.  As we look at standards, we want to pull out the nouns/noun phrases, or the "what", and then we need  to look at the verbs, or the "how".  If we do this, we will really be able to tease out what students "will be able to do", and the students will also be able to communicate what they need to understand.